Garage Sale

Okay, so I really, really, reeeeally need to have a garage (which will definitely spill-out-into-the-yard) sale.  For the last couple of weeks, between doing this & that I have been going through closets, drawers, storage rooms, cabinets, cubbies, and nooks and crannies, throwing into the garage anything and everything I don’t find beautiful, needed, or used in the last year.  Believe me, the garage is filling up.  Fast.

There are several sites that moved me on the path to purging possessions~ some thought-provoking and profound, others practical, and many helpful and fun.

And I still have a long way to go.  It feels rather endless, actually, so I may just need to start this garage sale soon, whether I have gone through every tiny little item or not.  I am SO ready to see it all GO.  But I still need to organize it, clean or spruce up some stuff, price it, place ads, etc.

Okay, here’s my ulterior motive for posting the picture here… sharing the picture might be the impetus I need to get it done and ready by this weekend.  Also, my son is concerned the neighbors might start to think we’re hoarders.

“Our lives are frittered away by detail … simplify, simplify”  ~Henry David Thoreau

4 thoughts on “Garage Sale

  1. Sara

    Looks like it’s going to be a great sale! Put a bunch of that awesome stuff on the sidewalk so drive-bys can see it! Good luck — glad you have a right-hand-man…

  2. Rachael Geerlings

    I spot a tiny little lamp that I could use for Brynn’s room! We won’t be home this weekend though…

    1. Rachael, I had so many lamps from my classroom that I took to Goodwill a year or so ago, after the word came down that we couldn’t have lamps in our classroom anymore.

Please Leave a Reply

