tea caddy

So, you know I love my tea!  But fumbling around in several different boxes to make my take on Aveda Comforting Tea was a pain, so I made a handy-dandy tea caddy to hold all my various tea bags!  This is a green craft because I used boxes from various teas and a couple Quaker Oats Instant Oatmeal boxes I had on-hand.  (speaking of which: I love the lower sugar maple and brown sugar, don’t you?!  I add part of a packet with half a handful of steel cut oats.  Yum!)  Anyhoo, here’s what I did:

Gathered boxes. I thought, I betcha I can make some drawers out of these!  So I put the two oatmeal boxes together, glued, taped, and added some scrapbooking paper to the outside.  I sealed the outside with Mod Podge (remind me later to share my recipe for homemade Mod Podge!) and made drawers out of the original tea boxes.

    See the cloudy and streaky Mod Podge?  No worries, folks, the Mod Podge will dry clear.  And it does a dandy job of sealing and protecting the outside from stains and smudges.  I used a different, more textural, paper for the drawers, being careful to line up the fibers so they matched.

  I used letters I already had on-hand to spell out TEA.  (Seriously, I bought nothing to do this craft.  Score!)  Again, I slathered the outside with Mod Podge a couple more times, allowing each coat to dry completely between coats.  Next, I used small craft charms for the drawer pulls. The top charm says, “Life is measured in moments,” and the bottom charm is a grandfather clock. Tea time!          Love!

Please Leave a Reply

